T-Bone Burnett
The True False Identity
(Sony B000E6UWEE May 16, 2006)
t-boneHot off the heels of being the chief music producer for "Walk The Line," "O Brother, Where Art Thou," and "Cold Mountain," T Bone Burnett's highly anticipated record marks the first new music from him in 14 years. Featuring 12 compelling tracks, The True False Identity is destined to be another treasured record from one of music's greatest legends.

A work of profound poetry and music, The True False Identity provides tuneful riff-driven inquiries into the nature of consciousness in songs like "Every Time I Feel The Shift" ("When you're out for revenge dig two graves/When you run from the truth it comes in waves"); the inevitability of a fading relationship in tracks like "I'm Going On A Long Journey Never To Return" ("Oh this death/Moment by moment/Darker and darker/Down and down/I feel your cold breath"); the power of love against the insidiousness of hatred in songs like "Seven Times Hotter Than Fire" ("If I was dead and buried in the cold hard ground/I would rise from the grave and come and track you down"); and the paradox of love itself in "Baby Don't Say You Love Me," with its deceptively jaunty melody. Burnett will tour for the first time in 20 years to support his new material and will take drummer Jim Keltner, guitarist Marc Ribot, bassist Dennis Crouch and keyboardist Keefus Ciancia along for the ride.

Review by Billy Clayton

Track Listings

1. Zombieland
2. Palestine Texas
3. Seven Times Hotter Than Fire
4. There Would Be Hell To Pay
5. Every Time I Feel the Shift
6. I'm Going On A Long Journey Never To Return
7. Hollywood Mecca Of The Movies
8. Fear Country
9. Baby Don't You Say You Love Me
10. Earlier Baghdad (The Bounce)
11. Blinded By The Darkness
12. Shaken Rattled And Rolled



This site is copyrighted ®© AMP/Alternate Music Press, 1997-2017. All Rights Reserved.
Unauthorized duplication and distribution of copyrighted material violates Federal Law